Raeann Blake (Author)

Ramblings from Raeann

The Next Big Thing

Posted by Raeann Blake (Author) on January 4, 2013

SevenBrothersOverviewCover_smallThere’s a fun meme being spread around the blogosphere, a meme where writers can pretend they’ve made it big. The very talented writing duo of Rosalind Burgess and Patricia Obermeier Neuman, aka Roz and Patty (@RozPattyWriters) tagged me in this meme, aptly called The Next Big Thing. Hey, I can dream. In my current series, The Seven Brothers of Elko, JakeBook One really has done well and Davis – Book Two will be out soon. So even though technically Davis is my current WIP, today I’m going to talk about Michael – Book 3. Well I’ve already done one of these for Davis, so it’s Michael’s turn. And my mama taught me it was always proper to take turns and share. Now being the spoiled baby of the family, I will admit that I wasn’t always particularly fond of this concept. But everybody has to grow up and accept the rules of social engagement and conduct themselves in a decorous, graceful, and refined manner. (he-he…ha-ha…ha-ha-ha-ha… ahem…sorry)

So without further ado, here we go.

What is the working title of your book?

 It was originally named Memories Forgotten, Memories Made. However,  in keeping with the other titles in the series, the new title is Michael (The Seven Brothers of Elko: Book Three)

Where did the idea come from for the book?

Michael is the third book in The Seven Brothers of Elko series which follows seven men who become as close, if not closer, than any seven brothers related by blood and the family they build together. All of the brothers were introduced in Jake (Book One) and it becomes more apparent that the seven will become a “family” in Davis’ story. When I wrote Jake, I didn’t intend for it to turn into a series, but once it was complete Davis started whispering in my ear, begging me to tell his story, too. And then it became apparent that each of the seven brothers had their own story to tell and they were definitely not going to let me sleep until I told them.

What genre does your book fall under?

 Each book in the series will be listed under Contemporary Romance and Romance Series. But they don’t fall into just one or two categories. The series as whole certainly belongs to the romance genre, but they each contain elements of a western, suspense, mystery, and family saga all rolled together.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

I honestly cannot answer this. I have a specific picture of both Michael and Trisha in my head so it would be hard to match those. I have watched very few movies and even less television in years so, even if I found the “right look”, I wouldn’t have a clue whether or not they could act their way out of a paper bag much less effectively portray the unique characters of Michael and Trisha.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Michael is certain he doesn’t want or need a woman in his life, but his Alpha Team does need Elko P.D. Detective Trisha Mitchell if they are going to find a brutal rapist and killer before another young girl dies…even if it means putting all of them and his heart in danger.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

 This series was originally written more than 5 year ago so it’s hard to remember. My best guess if 2-3 months for each book.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I do not like to compare my books to other authors. I am definitely unique with my own voice… or rather my characters have a unique voice. I will tell you that more than one reader and/or reviewer has compared them to ones by Janet Daily and Linda Lael Miller.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

 The guys did that themselves! The first book started from a long-standing saga I built in my head around an actor who had a popular television series at the time. Over the years I added to it until I reached the point where I was afraid I would lose it so I started writing it down. The story I wrote turned out to not be the story I started with although there are bits and pieces of it in there. The original didn’t have even one brother, much less seven. But as soon as Jake was finished it felt really important to “finish” Davis’ story line. And from there it just kept going until the family was complete.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

All of the seven brothers in this series have their own appeal. They each have their own special blend of characteristics that make you want to take them home with you for your very own. But Michael is special. Michael personifies a myriad of personality traits, strengths, and weaknesses that I find endearing, sexy, comforting, and just downright lovable all at the same time. His story will take you through extreme highs and heartbreaking lows. And the strong-minded, tough on the outside, up-for-the-challenge Trisha Mitchell is exactly what he needs, at least for his investigative team. As with every book in this series, you will laugh out loud and you will run for the Kleenex (buy stock now).

I would love to read about The Next Big Thing for the authors tagged below. We are all authors, editors, readers, publishers, marketers, etc., etc., and as a group time is always limited so it is understandable if you do not join in the fun. No pressure. If you have already recently done one of these or don’t have time, just ignore it. If you would like to share with us about your Next Big Thing, simply answer the questions in your own blogs, tag me, and tag some others.

Cynthia Woolf

Milly Taiden

Karen Docter

Alex Albrinck

And here is this meme’s origin: Roz & Patty

One Response to “The Next Big Thing”

  1. Loved reading this! Thanks so much for joining in the fun!

Leave a comment