Raeann Blake (Author)

Ramblings from Raeann

The Booker Award

Posted by Raeann Blake (Author) on November 14, 2012

I received this award from a wonderful writing duo of Roz and Patty, aka Burgess and Neuman (@RozPattyWriters), at Roz and Patty Write . This award is passed among authors and bloggers to showcase their five all-time favorite books.

Now I love books. There’s no doubt that I love to write. And I love to read. My history covers everything from westerns, true crime, mystery, suspense, romance, both true and fictional air disasters, and everything in between. About the only thing I don’t read is paranormal and horror. Not that there is anything wrong with those, I just know better than to feed my overactive imagination and encourage the incubation of an always lurking anxiety attack just waiting to happen.

I’ll confess right now. I’m cheating a bit on this list. It’s not the first time I have run afoul of the rules, nor will it be the last. You will see my list includes a couple of collections in lieu of a single book. These were collections that can’t be defined by single book. While each book within the collection is outstanding alone, as a group they will stay forever in my mind and heart.

So with that said, here is my list of my Top 5 Favorite (or at least Memorable) Books of all time.

  1. Call of the Wild by Jack London. This was my first “adult” book that was shoved into my hands by my daddy in response to that ever-present lament of children everywhere. “I’m bored.” London was the first of many to spirit me away to a world I had never imagined with his vivid descriptions of the sweeping frozen landscapes and introduced me to the concept of “people you love to hate”. I honestly believe that along with my parents, this book helped to develop my deeply ingrained sense of right and wrong. It, along with London’s White Fang, also jump-started my long-standing love affair with the majestic creatures of the wild, the legendary wolf. This one book started me down the path of being forever book-poor. Thank God for libraries.
  2. Riders of the Purple Sage by Zane Grey. Really I could have picked any of Zane Grey’s books. I grew up with a whole collection on our bookshelves. The first one carried me to another place and time. Once I read one, there was no stopping me. It takes a special talent to be able to transport a reader to another world. Zane Grey exploited that talent well.
  3. The Sacketts collection by Louis L’Amour. There is no possible way to single out just one of the many Louis L’Amour books. The closest I could come was to choose the group that covers the many branches of the Sackett family. Besides wanting to be there instead of merely living that day and time vicariously through the members of this family, they embodied the very definition of my own personal sense of what family means. “Mess with one…you get us all.”
  4. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote. I don’t know if I would classify this under the category of a favorite book. But it definitely falls into the list of the most memorable. Why? Because it scared the hell out of me. I went through an extended period of reading nothing but true crime novels and this was one of them. This true story scared me silly to the point that I heard things go bump in the night for a very long time.
  5. The Calder series by Janet Dailey. I stumbled across Janet Daily after I had already moved into the recent romance/romantic suspense books by the likes of Nora Roberts, Sandra Brown and Linda Howard. Then I found the Calders. Oh my! Without giving anything away, I will say that in the later stages of this series I encountered the first instance where an author left me heartbroken and so angry that I put the book down and swore I would never read anything by her again. Of course I did eventually finish the book and the series, but I still haven’t completely forgiven her to this day.

So there you have it. As I said, I can’t classify them all as favorites but at least memorable in that they have stayed with me long after the reading. And I have read all of them more than once…well except In Cold Blood. That one will sit on the shelf for an eon before I’m brave enough to pick it up again.

What are your favorites?

My task at the end of this post was to pass The Booker Award along to 5 more authors and bloggers. Unfortunately, despite a number of requests sent out through both Twitter and FB to fellow authors, I have been unable to gather 5 who currently have the time or inclination to accept. However, I did have one special author who accepted and I am pleased to present her with The Booker Award.

The fabulous Flick Merauld is the author of such immensely popular and highly-rated novels as “The Aunt Sally Team” and “The Sacred Marriage“. Keep watching her blog where she will share her favorite reads with all of us. And watch for her new release, “Aunt Sally and More“, coming in December. I can’t wait to read her list and appreciate her pulling out some of her proverbial time in a bottle to use for our reading pleasure.

Flick Merauld (@FlickM3) – cats dogs & eBooks: life love & having a novel published

2 Responses to “The Booker Award”

  1. WOW.So impressed on so many levels. LOVE your writing style. Love your list. I grew up with your first 3 on MY dad’s bookshelves — even read a few of them 🙂 And your #4 — well, I could have written that paragraph myself, and it would have been totally accurate. Now I just have to check out the Janet Dailey series. AND the writings of Raeann Blake! Thank you so much for accepting The Booker Award and for saying such nice things about us. And thanks for passing the award to one of OUR favorite Tweeps, Flick Merauld. So eager to see what books she chooses.
    Patty of Roz and Patty

    • Thanks, Patty! I really appreciate you and Roz passing the torch to me. It made me think back many years to that first book and brought back some wonderful memories. I have plans to order new copies of “Call of the Wild” and “White Fang” because they are not sitting on my bookshelf and now I want to read them again. I have your books on my Amazon Wish list, too. That was a blatant hint to my family so we will see if they actually read my blog. 🙂

      Thanks again. Your kind words made my day!

      Raeann

Leave a Reply

 
