Raeann Blake (Author)

Ramblings from Raeann

How did I get myself into this?

Posted by Raeann Blake (Author) on July 17, 2012

Book 1 - Jake

The book that started it all!

I didn’t grow up wanting to be an author. I loved to read, but I hated to write. My high school memories include some god-awful essays and book reports. I have no idea now whether they were even passable or not. I just know I hated writing them. I certainly don’t remember any of my teachers being overly impressed with my skills or my imagination. So there was nobody more surprised than I was when writing began to take over every waking moment not spent working.

So exactly how did I wind up writing twelve full-length novels and five more partially done in the span of about four years? Well, back in my (much) younger days, regardless of what my teachers thought, I really did have an active imagination. I started out with this harmless fantasy about a popular television actor at the time. Every day for a very long time I added a little more to that fantasy until it grew into this long saga. But I didn’t write it down.

The years passed and I would go back over that story from time to time. My reading always came in starts and stops. For a while you wouldn’t see me without a book in my hand. Other times it would be months before I picked up another one. It was during one of those times when I was reading a lot, at least one book a day. I would read just about anything from mysteries to true crime to romance and everything in between. I read a lot of Nora Roberts, Tami Hoag and Patricia Cornwell. Then I found Janet Daley and Linda Lael Miller. There were a lot of others too, but those were the main authors I looked for at the library and store. I had just finished reading Janet Dailey’s Caulder series of books and started thinking about that story again. It just kept bugging me and I was worried I would forget it if I didn’t write it down. So I did…sort of.

I started out and as soon as the first words were down it just seemed to flow. A few months later it was finished. Only it wasn’t my story. It was completely different from my story. And I couldn’t remember the original one anymore. To this day, I can tell you basic premise behind it, but that long detailed story is gone. Instead, I wound up with a book I imaginatively called Jake who is, of course, the hero. What I could never have envisioned at the time would be that Jake would turn out to be the first of seven books in a series entitled The Seven Brothers of Elko. It seems once I started I just couldn’t stop. I took the occasional break to read something by somebody else, but the next “guy” just seemed to keep calling me until I went back and started writing again.

Each book that I have written is overly long by genre standards. They are overly detailed compared to many I have read. But I write the way I like to read. I enjoy the details, the descriptions, and the dialog. I like reading a book that I can’t read without having to get up and go to the bathroom at least once. Every writer has a different style. This is mine. Like I said, I write the way I like to read. In today’s hectic lifestyle many people just don’t have the time or patience to invest in stories like mine. And that’s cool. To each his own.

I never intended for anyone else to read these books. I wrote them because I had to. I enjoyed living life through the eyes of my characters. But I did finally let one person read them and only because I knew she loved the same kinds of books I did. She loved them and started in right away about publishing them. For seven years this went on. Seven years that she had to enlist family members and friends to help her push, prod, and outright shove me towards releasing them. I finally gave in. A couple of the single titles (that may or may not turn out to be part of a series down the road) are the first two out.

I’m still holding onto The Seven Brothers for now. I got very close to the people in those seven books. And you will see them pop-up from time to time in a few of the other books that I wrote after them as well. But I will let them go share their stories with others one day soon. And you never can tell. They just might come back to visit again…maybe there will be a second generation of The Seven Brothers of Elko someday.

Leave a Reply

 
