Raeann Blake (Author)

Ramblings from Raeann

We Are Expecting!

Posted by Raeann Blake (Author) on December 31, 2013

Happy-New-YearIt’s official and I can now announce that we are expecting…new lungs at some future date.

I thought hard about the pro’s and con’s. And then I thought back over the battles that John and I have waged for the last year. There have been many. I would have never made it this far without him and he has been much stronger than I through it all. I cannot give up on him now.

I also went back to Mamma and Daddy and talked to them for a while. I sure wish they had phones in Heaven. But I know what they would tell me. They raised four strong girls and they didn’t raise a single one of them to be a quitter. I figure if I started now that Daddy would reach down and thump me on the head for even thinking about it.

So with all that said, I am at peace with any possible requirements and procedures. I am now officially listed on the transplant list. What a great way to start the new year.

Thank you all so much for your well wishes and prayers. They have meant so much to me and will continue to do so in the battles to come. Happy New Year to each of you. Have a safe one and remember, if you drink don’t drive. If you drive, don’t drink. We want you all right back here tomorrow.

Happy Reading! ~ Raeann

8 Responses to “We Are Expecting!”

  1. laura cook said

    Prayers continue! I know three people who have had successful lung transplant surgery this fall.. Here in Texas… I thought of you each time.

  2. Darlene said

    God bless you. Thanks for being a fighter. Look forward to hearing good news in the new year.

  3. Linda said

    Thanks for deciding to fight. My best wishes to you and your John. 2014 is going to be terrific for you both!

  4. Karen said

    That is WONDERFUL news! And even more wonderful that you are so happy and at peace with your decision.
    I don’t know if this will help or not, but I radically changed my diet (at 48 yrs old) in Feb of 2013, then more so in May 2013.
    I had massive health issues – not as severe as yours, but my pulmonologist told me I’d be lucky to survive another 5 years. Chronic pain with severe arthritis in my spine and neck had me on round the clock painkillers with little relief. I was morbidly obese and ate obsessively. I can tell you the best rib joints within a 5 state radius and have actually driven over 100 miles (more than once) just to purchase the world’s best cinnamon rolls. I’ve spent decades on the diet rollercoaster – endless deprivation leading to moderate weight loss only to lose the willpower and gain it all back. But this is different. I’ve lost over 120 pounds in less than a year, I’m off all steroids and most painkillers, my asthma has become manageable to the point of just a rescue inhaler. I don’t hurt all the time, my head is clear and I can breathe.
    In May, I gave up the following: caffeine, sugar (and I limit my fruit intake), all grains except brown rice, soy, dairy, eggs, red meat, shellfish, nightshade vegetables (tomatoes, potatoes, eggplant, peppers, etc.). It changed my life. It saved my life.
    I feel fantastic. I TOTALLY get the horror of not being able eat all the amazing foods we southerners have available to us. And, frankly, I can’t begin to imagine what it would be like to not be able to take ANYTHING by mouth. The only thing I can tell you is that when you get your health back, and you feel better than you’ve felt in decades, that feeling of loss and deprivation will pale in comparison. And it will be AMAZING! I promise :-)
    Happy New Year!!

  5. Peta (Lynette) Benjamin said

    Sometimes we have to make a monumental decision, not just for us but for all. Good luck and Good Health, hope all goes well for you, you brave and lovely woman. You give so much with your wonderful words now it is time for everyone to give their words in prayer to you.

  6. We wish you the best!! Keeping you in our prayers–
    Roz and Patty

  7. PJ said

    My thought an prayers go out to you. It is a great way to start the new year. A year with hope.

  8. Anonymous said

    I hope you don’t have to wait long Raeanne and I’m sure your strength will get you through. My thoughts are with you and I wish you a happy and healthy future. :) xx

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 73 other followers

